Coinage of Russia. Russia, also known as the Russian Federation, is a federal semi-presidential republic comprising 83 federal subjects in northern Eurasia. It is the largest country in the world and the 8th most populous. The capital city is Moscow. Although Russian is the official language, there are 27 other co-official languages in use. Formation of various governments: Russian Empire October 22, 1721; Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic Novermber 7, 1917; Union of Soviet Socialist Republics December 10, 1922; Russian Federation December 25, 1991. Monetary system: 1 Ruble = 100 Kopeks.