Coinage of Swaziland. The Kingdom of Swaziland, also known as Ngwane or Swatini, is a landlocked country in Southern Africa. The royal and legislative capital city is Lobamba and the administrative capital is Mbabane. Official languages are English and Swati. Swaziland has been in the news as having the highest HIV infection rate in the world at over 26% of adults. Independence from United Kingdom: September 6, 1968. Monetary system: 1 Lilangeni = 100 Cents (currency pegged to South African Rand).